Triangle Arts and Entertainment – News and Reviews Theatre Dance Music Arts


Birds and Arrows

Birds and Arrows

Shuffle Magazine Premieres “Firefly” Video Directed by Hueism Pictures:

Saturday, April 13 Ashland, VA @ Ashland Coffee and Tea

Wednesday, April 17 Charlotte, NC @ Evening Muse

Friday, April 19 Raleigh, NC @ Amplified Art

Saturday, April 27 Richmond, VA @ Southminister Presbyterian Church

BIRDS AND ARROWS will release their third full-length album, Coyotes, on March 19, 2013 through Redeye Distribution. Approved for posting, stream four songs (including “Firefly”) from the new album at:

The Chapel Hill/Durham, NC based trio worked with an impressive cast of local and national talent to create Coyotes.  Robert Sledge of Ben Folds Five, Dirk Shumaker of Big Bad Voodoo Daddy and James Wallace of Mount Moriah are just a few of the special guests that where involved in the making of this record.   Produced and mixed by Chris Stamey of the dBs, Coyotes promises to be Birds and Arrows’ best effort as a band to date.  Stamey describes the album as “An amazing record, overflowing with invention, dedication and exuberance.”

This new group of songs on Coyotes embrace the original folk spirit of Birds and Arrows, combined with the confidence and experience in songwriting that comes from playing music together for over six years.  The wistful and nostalgic “Firefly” (the album’s opening track) evokes memories of youth, first love, and the scars of rejection that resonate with everyone throughout a lifetime.

The band explores biographical song crafting on Coyotes’s third track, “The Rest of Your Life“, which is a quirky and endearing tribute to the career of Woody Allen.

The group formed in 2007 by wife and husband, Andrea and Pete Connolly, who released two critically acclaimed EPs, Birds and Arrows and Woodgrain Heart. In 2009, Josh Starmer joined the group on cello during the recording of the band’s first full-length record Starmaker, whichwas picked by the Independent Weekly as the “Album of the Month.”  In 2011, Birds and Arrows released its second full-length record We’re Gonna Run, which was revered by Independent Weekly’s music editor, Grayson Currin as “the best moment of the band’s career, a promise that they’ve got real range.”

Frank Stasio of NPR/WUNC’s The State of Things noted, “The honeymoon sweetness of their earlier work has been replaced with a maturity and depth appropriate for musicians whose lives and work are gaining seriousness and acclaim.”

Coyotes is saturated with imagery from the bucolic surroundings of the Connollys’ new home, a 19th-century school house-turned-cabin nestled in the country a half hour north of Durham, NC.  Corbie Hill of Independent Weekly noted “After six years as a band, it seems as if the Connollys have come to a point of comfort, not only musically but personally: Their new rural home, where they moved in early 2012, enables these two to live as they have wanted to for years. Andrea is surrounded by horses, while Pete drags fields and mends fences in the rural quiet.”

Over the years, Birds and Arrows have developed a rich sound that is much more than the sum of their parts. The romance between Andrea and Pete’s voices is distinctly captivating and intertwines with Josh’s beautiful yet haunting cello melodies.  Together they accomplish an elegant, warm sound that is truly their own. Their compelling and road tested live show appeals to a surprisingly wide range of audiences; they are the cherished rock band for folk lovers and the favorite folk group for rock fans.



1.    Firefly

2.    Out in the Garden

3.    The Rest of Your Life

4.    Orion

5.    Coyotes

6.    I Hear Bells

7.    Anywhere But Here

8.    Safety

9.    Sunday Night Blues

10. Life Like Life

11. Inside Out

12. Saddest Song