Triangle Arts and Entertainment – News and Reviews Theatre Dance Music Arts

New Town Drunks Release New Album


On the 2598th anniversary of the eclipse that ended the Battle of Halys, Hmm Media is proud to announce a new record by New Town Drunks (Diane Koistinen and Roberto Cofresi).    NTD’s new full-length record, Kiss, produced by NTD and Stu Cole (Squirrel Nut Zippers), was recorded at Sound of Music Studios in Richmond VA with Alan Weatherhead (Sparklehorse, Lucero, Camper Van Beethoven) and mastered at Ultra Fin Riz Studios in Chapel Hill NC.

The record features 9 new songs by NTD including a translation of a song by Catalan artist Joan Manuel Serrat, and a musicalization of a poem by Charles Baudelaire.   The recording features outstanding performances by Mr. Cole on bass, Robo Jones (Sex Police) on trombone, Nathan Logan (Hooverville) on drums, Doug Norton (See No Weevil) on keys, and Miguel Rodriguez-Urbiztondo (Cracker) on percussion.

“This is a more song oriented album, than the last one, each song is a kiss.” says Cofresi, “Some are sweet, some have more bite to them.”

The album will be available on CD, and on air fresheners with download codes.  You can hear the first single from the album, Kiss Kiss, and pre-order the album, on the band’s website and from bandcamp (for downloads).  After May 28, 2013 the record will be available at most online retailers through Chicago’s Disclexington Productions, and at selected record stores.

The New Town Drunks have been playing together since 2003 and have released one single, a studio EP, 2 live EPs, and a previous full-length studio record.

For more info:

Hmm Media:     

New Town Drunks:

Categorised in: Music, News